Q: How do you like being the third grade teacher?

A: I love being the third grade teacher.  I have waited a long time to be placed back in the elementary school setting.

Q: Do you miss teaching middle school?

A: I do miss some things about middles school. The little kids don’t understand my sarcasm and the big kids do. I miss joking around with the middle school students and I’m so fortunate to teach at St. Augustine School where I can still see the middle school students every day while teaching the young ones.

Q: What are you looking forward to this year?

A: I am REALLY looking forward to celebrating Christmas with my little ones in grade 3.  They are already so excited about Christmas and it’s so awesome to see their faces light up even when I mention Christmas.  We are doing a whole unit on the Polar Express and I’m really looking forward to that!

Q: What differences are there from teaching middle school and third grade?

A: Middle school children catch on much more quickly than the little ones.  I can’t cover as much material as I could in middle school.  A challenge I’m trying to overcome is not planning so much in one day.  Things in grade 3 take a very long time to get organized, especially in the morning. 

All in all, I’m happy with the decision I made to move downstairs, but I’m lucky enough to see the smiling faces of the middle school students every single day too!

By Nicholas Orabona and Dylan Murray

