What is your favorite thing about teaching?

Honestly, the best thing about teaching is when you can really tell that you have helped a child to learn something that he/she was previously struggling with or inspired him/her to have a love of learning new things.

Why did you decide to teach a lower grade rather than the middle school?

Since I was a teenager and did some babysitting as one of my first jobs, I always had a love for working with little children.  Then, after graduating from college, some of my first jobs were teaching children in first grade and kindergarten, and I loved it.

What do you plan on teaching the first grade this year?

The biggest thing to teach the children in first grade is how to read!  It is incredible to watch the progress that the children make from September to June in their reading.  From there, it is important for the children to apply their sounds to make words, to help them become successful writers, as well.

Why did you decide to teach at St. Augustine?

I had been working at St. Augustine’s for the past three years, which included some subbing last year, and I enjoyed being back in the school setting and specifically the classroom.  (Previous to that, I had stayed home with Elyse and Leah when they were little.)  Now that I am back, I do feel right “at home” again.

What are the pros and cons of teaching the first grade?

As I mentioned earlier, one of the biggest pros to teaching first grade is seeing the incredible progress that the students make during the year as they learn to read.  It is exciting to witness this growth!  Also, I have really enjoyed teaching religion.  We are learning about different saints, and we go on a “tour” of the country that the saint was from.  It has been a very enjoyable experience for me and my students.  Honestly, the pros have been outweighing any cons of this job.  

 

                                                           By: Siena Coia and Nora Claire Reall

 

